Community Champions

Community Champions enrich the quality of life for others, especially families and children in need as they journey on their personal road to independence in Northern Virginia. They are typically distinguished and high-profile individuals who graciously and generously focus their influence, status and connectivity as well as their financial means in the Northern Virginia community to accomplish that mission. In some cases, Community Champions may not necessarily have high visibility in the community, but are equally distinguished in their personal and professional life and their positive impact on others. Community Champions are recognized each May at NVFS’ Gala. Previous Community Champions include:

  • Karen Cleveland (2017)
  • Karen Schaufeld (2016)
  • Lauren Peterson (2014)
  • George Lizama (2013)
  • Dr. Bob Templin (2012)
  • Dr. Alan and Sally Merten (2011)
  • Knox Singleton (2010)
  • Dr. Marian Houk, May Laing and Jim Lintott (2009)
  • JC Haywood and Tom Davis (2008)


Legends of Northern Virginia Award

The Legends of Northern Virginia Award was presented for the first time at the Gala 2010 event. The Award was created to honor individuals who have made a profound impact upon Northern Virginia in business and philanthropic initiatives, especially highlighting their work to help build up children and families in Northern Virginia. Recipients of this award will have a long-standing presence in Northern Virginia, and, ideally, an established donor relationship with NVFS. Our honorees include:

  • Dr. William A. Hazel, Jr. (2018)
  • Frank Wolf (2017)
  • J. Hamilton Lambert (2016)
  • Mary Agee (2015)
  • Sidney O. Dewberry (2014)
  • Earle C. Williams and June Williams (2013)
  • Dr. and Mrs. George Johnson (2012)
  • Til Hazel (2011)
  • John and Nina Toups (2010)